Wilkinsons Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Wilkinsons
Kitchen Default-Sections or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for wilko.com Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wilkinsons.

wilko.com Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg

Beer kit containing barley malt extract. No sugar required. Makes 40 pints of beer. Yeast sachet included. Lots of hop character, with a smooth body. Contains barley malt extract from the finest quality. Always read label.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.’
Customer reviews for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Review 1 for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 stars 5

very good beer

Posted03 September 2013
Customer avatar
fromSomerset, UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Purchased:Wilko.com
Value 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
I see this product cannot be purchased any longer.
Can anyone find out if there is a replacement of this quality for sale within the wilco group.
A 3kg kit with good results.
Dry hop this and your result will be a very good result.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 stars 5

good service, excellent product

Posted05 August 2013
Customer avatar
fromScunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, UK
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Purchased:Wilko.com
Value 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
the delivery was prompt, and the product was very good quality
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 stars 5

Decent pint, but wouldnt say it's IPA

Posted19 July 2013
Customer avatar
fromMerseyside, UK
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
I had high hopes about brewing this one as I was keen to get a pale ale on the go for the warmer weather. However, when I'd opened the first bottle after it had brewed and conditioned it was a lot darker than expected and most definitely didn't have a IPA style taste or character. That said it makes for a very refreshing pint and it's a pleasure to drink in this heatwave. However, it's far from an IPA.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 stars 5

Easy, drinkable but needs more hops

Posted10 July 2013
Customer avatar
fromLondon, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Purchased:Wilko.com
Value 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Not as hoppy as an IPA should be. Buy extra hops and add them in yourself.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 stars 5

A beer making beginner, but ...

Posted30 May 2013
Customer avatar
fromMidlands UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Purchased:Wilko.com
Value 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
This is the second kit I've used from Wilkinsons. The instructions were easy to follow, and the beer is good - it goes down well here. What I wanted, as a beginner to beer making, was a simple way to make good beer. For me, this kit does just that.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 stars 5

GOOD PRODUCT AND EASY FOR FIRST TIME BREWERS

Posted24 May 2013
Customer avatar
fromCUMBRIA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchased:Wilko.com
Value 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
LEAVE THE AUSTERITY CLUB BREW YOUR OWN, WHILE OFFER OF £15 IS ON TRY THIS EVEN IF FIRST TIME BREWER, GOOD VALUE FOR PURE MALT KIT
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 stars 5

Clean & clear requires additional hops for my liking

Posted22 May 2013
Customer avatar
fromDerby, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Purchased:Wilko.com
Value 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
I barreled this one, it came out all right
Will try bottling the next
Very pleased with the Wed site and Stores pick up
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 stars 5

Brewmaker ipa

Posted25 April 2013
Customer avatar
fromLincolnshire
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Purchased:Wilko.com
Value 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
I have tried many different kits and have found this to be one if my favourites. It is good value for money and tastes great. Good clear instructions are included. The end product tastes great and is very drinkable. I have tried other IPA's and this is the best.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 stars 5

A great easy drinking IPA

Posted19 April 2013
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 stars 5
Don't know what went wrong with the previous reviewers beer but I have been brewing for over a decade and this is one of the best kits I have had! Smooth, tasty and well worth the current £15 asking price...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 stars 5

Thin, poor quality beer

Posted20 March 2013
Customer avatar
Value 
3 / 5
3 stars 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 star 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 stars 5
I started off making beer from single can kits with decent results and then progressed to the all grain method, with better results. As a stop gap measure, because I hadn't got time to make a full brew, I bought this kit. I had thought that using 3kg of malt extract in 2 cans would produce better results then 1 can plus 1 kg of brewing sugar. But not with this kit.
The yeast isn't a patch on a slightly dearer specialist yeast and didn't seem to take very quickly. I'm not sure what went wrong, maybe it was too cold, but I really struggled to get the SG down below 1020, never mind to 1010. I've had no trouble before, even using all grains, which is supposedly harder.
The resultant beer is weak, sweet and tastes of cardboard (oxygenation?) and has diacetyl off flavours. I won't buy this again, I'll do it all myself with the proper ingredients.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Brewmaker Best of British India Pale Ale Beer Kit 3kg
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 stars 5

Great tasting beer

Posted20 December 2012
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Purchased:Wilko.com
Value 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 stars 5
I really like this beer. Keeps for a while before you need to add more gas into the keg. Nice head on it too..
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.